So I am now another week and a half on from my last post and I continue to progress more each day.  I’m still at my parents house, due to go back home when my husband comes back from working away next week.

I make notes of new things I do as I do them, it’s a good way to look back and realise I am moving forward albeit tiny, tiny bits each day.  I can now tackle the stairs and walk up them ‘normally’ rather than both feet on one step at a time, coming down is easier using the less ‘normal’ technique though!  My daily foot washing routine is still in place and my scab has now been washed away to reveal a pretty neat scar!  I am really pleased with the look of my foot so far (not that I went into this because of vanity reasons, but I am pleased to see that I now may not be left with an ugly scar!)  Looking at the photo below  it really is amazing to see the healing that has happened in just 2.5 weeks!  The photo on the right was taken a couple of days ago.  I really feel that the Arnica tablets and cream have helped no end bringing the bruising out.  I am now cooking meals for myself and the children and have tackled a bit of ironing although I would be happy never to get back to being able to iron!

I went back to see my GP for her to check my progress and to ask about starting to try and manipulate my big toe as it’s still quite rigid and stiff.  She confirmed that if I hadn’t been told by the hospital to do anything, I probably shouldn’t apart from try and wiggle my toes.  I am doing that three times a day and my range of movement is definitely improving, I’m taking videos of this to see that it’s actually getting better!  I think my friends and family must be getting fed up of receiving videos and photos of my foot!!! 🙂

Walking further and for longer is still a little bit of a struggle and my foot does swell quite a bit still when not elevated.  I decided to have my first trip out to the supermarket last Friday with my mum and dad and managed to walk around Tesco’s without feeling the need to sit in a trolley half way round!  That was a big achievement for me, I felt a bit more human again too!  My son takes part in our local 5k park run on a Saturday morning, we’ve done this together a few times.  My dad drove us over to Holkham and I managed to walk him to the start line, walk back to the cafe to get a coffee and get back to greet him at the finish line!  It was a beautiful morning, sunny and bright.  Another achievement.  I did stand there and wonder if I’d ever be able to join in again!  I am sure I will, just not for a while!

So, I am starting to build my calf muscle up again now and the walking has helped with this.  I popped into work on Monday and Tuesday this week for a couple of hours to catch up with everyone, that was nice.  I was hoping to have been back at work by now but I didn’t realise just how slow the recovery would be!  I am starting work again next week now and I may work reduced hours and do a bit from home, I am lucky enough to have a very understanding boss who is letting me play it all by ear.  I can’t wait to start using my brain again!!  I am due to go back to hospital and see my surgeon in 2 weeks.  I believe he will do X-rays and, fingers crossed, the bones will all have healed as they should.  I will then give up the Darco shoe and get into a pair of trainers!  This has been a really tough decision, what trainers?  I have done a hell of a lot of research on what trainers would be a good, comfortable, supportive fit and they arrived this morning!  It may have taken me a few minutes to get my foot into it but I did! I now have ‘just’ enough bend in my toe to get them on!  I ordered half a size bigger than I am and they are perfect.  I think they will be all I can wear for a few months!

So, looking back over my last 5 weeks, apart from the first two incredibly painful weeks, I have quite enjoyed my rest!  I do feel well rested and am so relieved to be this side of the recovery.  I wanted to use this time to do something productive and I have, I have almost finished my Christmas shopping and it’s only October!  Christmas cards are written and Christmas cakes are baked!  I have never been so organised this early on!  My parents postman finds it all very amusing delivering all the parcels to my mums every day.  He will notice a difference when I am gone next week!

I guess my next update will be how my return to home and work goes next week and the run up to my next hospital appointment.

RECENT HIGH’S – Toe movement and getting the trainers on! Oh, and being taken out for Fish and Chips yesterday lunch time!  (I could get used to this way of life!)

RECENT LOW’S – Due to inactivity I have gained about half a stone in weight!  Looking forward to walking that off very soon!

IMG_0748IMG_0733IMG_0731IMG_0750IMG_0740IMG_0736

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment